Comment(s)

This summary is not intended as legal advice or restatement of law, and should not be construed as such. This summary also does not include federal or local laws, ordinances or regulations. Although accurate as of press time, firearm laws are subject to frequent change and court interpretation. For any particular situation, a licensed local attorney must be consulted for an accurate interpretation. YOU MUST ABIDE BY ALL STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL LAWS. For additional information, visit the National Rifle Association webpage at nraila.org/GunLaws for additional information on firearm laws and concealed carry restrictions within specific States.

ALABAMA
State Statute: C.A. §13A-11-75
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: Varies by county
Permit Term: 1 Year
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Notes: Limitations exist for open carry within vehicles. “Reasonable need” required for CC permit.

ALASKA
State Statute: A.S. 11.61.220
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $94.25
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: Alaska Department of Public Safety
Notes: Anyone over 21 years of age may carry a concealed pistol without a permit. For purposes of reciprocity with other States, a permit may be requested and shall be issued by the Alaska DPS. Concealed firearms are not permitted in courthouses, schoolyards, bars, or domestic violence shelters.

ARIZONA
State Statute: A.R.S. 13-3112
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $6d0
Permit Term: 5 Years
Issuing Authority: Arizona Department of Public Safety
Notes: CC prohibited in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol; public schools, colleges and universities; polling places; nuclear or hydroelectric generating facilities; and detention facilities.

ARKANSAS
State Statute: A.C.A. §§5-73-301
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $144
Permit Term: 5 Years
Issuing Authority: AR State Police
Notes: There is a detailed list of places in which concealed carry is prohibited within the State of Arkansas. Persons who wish to carry concealed within Arkansas are advised to review the Arkansas State statute that governs concealed carry to determine where it is legal to carry a concealed firearm.

CALIFORNIA
State Statute: P.C. 12000 et seq.
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: Varies
Permit Term: 2 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff of COP of resident’s jurisdiction
Notes: Effective January 1, 2001, no handgun may be imported into CA unless that model is certified for sale in CA by the CA Department of Justice. Open carry is generally prohibited except in unincorporated areas of the State. Even then, counties may restrict open carry. Open carry permits may be applied for, but only in counties with a population less than 200,000.

COLORADO
State Statute: C.R.S. 18-12-201 CRS 18-12-203
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $52.50
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Notes: Concealed carry is prohibited in all locations prohibited by federal law, prohibited in all secondary schools (Grades K – 12) unless cased within a locked vehicle and prohibited in any public building that posts guards and establishes permanent metal detectors. It is unlawful to possess a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances.

CONNECTICUT
State Statute: C.G.S. §§ 29-28,
29-28a, and 28-29.
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: $70
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: CT State Police
Notes: Applicants are required to complete a handgun safety course. The NRA “Basic Pistol Course” satisfies the requirements, however the NRA “Home Firearms Safety Course” and “First Steps Pistol Orientation Program” are not approved courses. Live-fire training is also required. Computer-generated programs, dry-fire, other simulated shooting tools, plastic bullets, air guns, etc. are not acceptable alternatives. A carry permit is required for a myriad of situations, including the concealed carry of a firearm on one’s own property when outside of the domicile. Persons who wish to possess firearms within the State of CT are advised to review the CT General Statutes to determine the legalities of possession and carry.

DELAWARE
State Statute: 11 Del. § 1441(j)
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: $34.50
Permit Term: 2 years
Issuing Authority: DE State Police or the Delaware State Att. Gen.Notes: The application process for a concealed carry permit in Delaware is unusual, in that it requires the applicant to publish the application within a local newspaper with a circulation of 35% or more of the county population. A safety course and live-fire training of at least 100 rounds is required as part of the application process.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
State Statute: D.C. C. § 22-4503
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: Unknown
Permit Term: 1 year
Issuing Authority: Chief of Police
Notes: Following the 2008 U.S. Supreme Court decision in D.C. v. Heller, the laws of the District of Columbia are in flux. Residents of the District are advised to review the most recent changes to DC Code and seek competent legal advice prior to possessing a firearm within the District.

FLORIDA
State Statute: F.S. 790.01
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $117.00
Permit Term: 7 years
Issuing Authority: FL Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Notes: There is a detailed list of places in which concealed carry is prohibited within the State of Florida. Persons who wish to carry concealed within Florida are advised to review the Florida State statute that governs concealed carry to determine where it is legal to carry a concealed firearm.

GEORGIA
State Statute: O.C.G.A.
Sec. 16-11-129
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: Varies
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: Probate court in the resident’s county
Notes: There is a detailed list of places in which CC is prohibited within GA. Persons who wish to carry concealed within GA are advised to review the Georgia State statute that governs concealed carry to determine where it is legal to carry a concealed firearm.

HAWAII
State Statute: H.R.S. §134-9
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: $10
Permit Term: 1 year
Issuing Authority: Chief of Police or State Attorney General
Notes: In 2006, Honolulu PD Captain Raymond Ancheta testified to the Hawaii State legislature that from 1991 – 2006, (a period of 15 years) no permits to carry a concealed firearm had been granted. Discretion to issue a carry permit lies solely with the police chief of each island.

IDAHO
State Statute: I.C. §18-3302
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $20
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Notes: The application fee listed within the statute is $20. County sheriffs may impose additional fees to cover the cost of running a background check and other costs associated with issuing the permit.

ILLINOIS
State Statute: None
Shall/May Issue: None Issued
Cost: N/A
Permit Term: N/A
Issuing Authority: N/A

INDIANA
State Statute: I.C. §35-47-2-3
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: Varies by type
Permit Term: Varies
Issuing Authority: IN State Police
Notes: Indiana allows persons to apply for a 4 year permit for $40. Indiana residents may also apply for a lifetime permit for $125. The four-year permit may be renewed and rolled into a lifetime permit for an additional $100 fee.

IOWA
State Statute: I.C. Title 16-724.1 through 724.30
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: $10
Permit Term: 1 year
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff of the Commissioner of the Iowa Department of Public Safety
Notes: Chapter 724 of the Iowa Code authorizes the commissioner of the Iowa DPS to provide forms for use by sheriffs for acquiring handguns or for carrying weapons. The forms, procedures and training requirements are further defined in Administrative Rules, 661, Chapter 91. Residents applying for permits to acquire pistols or revolvers or for permits to carry weapons must check with their respective sheriff’s office for the application procedure for that county.

KANSAS
State Statute: K.S.A. 75-7c01 et seq
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $150
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: Kansas Att. Gen.
Notes: Application process for a KS CC permit involves a three parts. Basic requirements include completion of an 8-hour weapons safety and training course, and the applicant be at least 21 years of age, a citizen of the U.S., and a resident of Kansas for six months prior to filing.

KENTUCKY
State Statute: KRS 237.110
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $60
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority:
Kentucky State Police
Notes: The Dept. of KY State Police shall, within 90 days, either issue a license or deny the application.

LOUISIANA
State Statute: R.S. 40:1379.3
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: Varies
Permit Term: 2 or 4 years
Issuing Authority: LA State Police
Notes: For applicants aged 21 – 64, the application costs $50 for a two-year permit, or $100 for a four-year permit. For applicants aged 65 Years of Age or Older, the application costs $25 for a two-year permit, or $50 for a four-year permit. Applicant must also complete an approved firearms safety or training course prior to applying for the permit.

MAINE
State Statute: 25 M.R.S.A. § 2003
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $35
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: Depends
Notes: The issuing authorities include the mayor, municipal officers or councilors of a city or town, the assessors of a plantation, a full-time chief of police or in case of a nonresident, the chief of the state police.

MARYLAND
State Statute: M.C.A. §4-101 through 4-407
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: $70
Permit Term: 2 years
Issuing Authority: MD State Police
Notes: Categories that qualify for a CC permit include “making deposits, receiving money or cash flow, professional activities like doctors or pharmacies, correctional officers, former police officer, private detective, and personal protection.” In order to use the personal protection qualification, there must be documented evidence of recent threats, robberies, and/or assaults, supported by official police reports or notarized statements from witnesses.

MASSACHUSETTS
State Statute: 140 MGL §131
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: $100
Permit Term: 6 years
Issuing Authority: Police chief or Massachusetts State police
Notes: Permits are good for 6 years for residents, 1 year for non-residents. Two classes­—Class A permits allow unrestricted possession of firearms, Class B allows possession of restricted capacity guns and ammo feed devices.

MICHIGAN
State Statute: Michigan Act 381 of 2000
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $60
Permit Term: 3 years
Issuing Authority: Michigan State Police or Local County Gun Board
Notes: The application for a license to carry a concealed pistol must be made under oath, in the presence of the clerk of the county of the applicant’s residence. The applicant must submit a passport quality photograph. In addition, the applicant must have two sets of fingerprints made by the county sheriff, and submit these with the application. The sheriff may charge up to $15 for the fingerprints. The application fee is $55.

MINNESOTA
State Statute: M.S.A. §624.714
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $100
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: Local Sheriff
Notes: No CC permit is required to keep or carry a handgun about the person’s place of business, dwelling, house, premises, or on land possessed by the person. In addition, no permit is required to carry a handgun between a dwelling and place of business.

MISSISSIPPI
State Statute: M.C. § 45-9-101
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $100
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: DPS or Mississippi Highway Patrol
Notes: New permits are $100, plus a $32 fingerprinting fee. Renewals are $50, plus the $32 fingerprinting fee. Applicant must be a resident of Mississippi for 12 months prior to applying. The requirement may be waived for active duty military or for those with active permits from other states.

MISSOURI
State Statute: M.R.S. 571.010 – 571.150
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $100
Permit Term: 3 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Notes: Any U.S. resident over the age of 23 who has resided in MO for six months, is a member of the armed forces stationed in MO, or who is a spouse of such member of the military can submit an application for a CC endorsement.

MONTANA
State Statute: M.C.A. 45-8-315, and M.C.A. 45-8-321
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $50
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Notes: Montana prohibits people from carrying concealed weapons inside buildings owned or leased by the federal, state or local government, financial institutions, and within any place where alcoholic beverages are sold, dispensed and consumed. An out of state concealed weapons permit will be allowed in MT if the person issued the permit has the permit in immediate possession with official photo identification, and the state that issued the permit requires a criminal records background check for permit applicants prior to issuance.

NEBRASKA
State Statute: N.R.S. § 69-2430 and N.R.S. § 69-2431
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $100
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: NE State Police
Notes: Applicants must be over the age of 21, and show completion of a safety course approved by the State Police within three years of application. Renewals are $50. It is unlawful to carry a firearm in a Nebraska state game refuge.

NEVADA
State Statute: N.R.S. § 202.3657
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $105
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Notes: Non-resident permits are good for 3 years. State law does not prohibit open carry.

NEW HAMPSHIRE
State Statute: R.S.A. § 159:4 – 6
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $10
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: Selectman, Mayor, Chief of Police
Notes: New Hampshire does not recognize permits issued by other states to non-residents of the issuing state. Non-resident NH permits are $20; good for four years.

NEW JERSEY
State Statute: N.J.S. § 2C:39-1 et seq. and N.J.S. § 2C:58-1 et seq.
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: $20
Permit Term: 2 years
Issuing Authority: Chief of Police or Superintendent of State Police
Notes: Issuance of the permit is almost completely discretionary, and NJ courts have upheld the policy of strictly limiting permits “to persons specifically employed in security work . . . and to others who can establish an urgent necessity for carrying guns for self-protection.” Failure to give notice to an applicant within 60 days is deemed to be a permit approval.

NEW MEXICO
State Statute: N.M.S.A. § 29-19-1
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $100
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: DPS
Notes: 15-hour state mandated class. Cost is $100, but is reduced to $75 for each additional member of the original applicant’s household. Fee is reduced to $50 for the spouse of a PO. Applicants must complete an approved training course prior to applying.

NEW YORK
State Statute: N.Y.S.L. § 400
Shall/May Issue: May Issue
Cost: Varies
Permit Term: Varies
Issuing Authority: Varies
Notes: A license to possess a handgun serves also as a license to carry unless restricted. A license to carry or possess a pistol is effective throughout the state, except that the license is invalid within the city of New York unless a special permit granting validity is issued by the NYC Police Commissioner. Requirements vary by county.

NORTH CAROLINA
State Statute: N.C.G.S. § 14-402
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $90
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Notes: A permit does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun on public or private school property, in any assembly where a fee has been charged for admission, in any financial institution, and in any establishment where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed.

NORTH DAKOTA
State Statute: N.D.C.C. § 62.1-01-01 through 62.1-05-12
Shall/May Issue: Shall issue
Cost: $25
Permit Term: 3 years
Issuing Authority: Chief of the Bureau of Criminal Investigation
Notes: Open carry in North Dakota is permitted, between the hours of one hour before sunrise and one hour after sunset only if unloaded and in plain view or secured. Between the hours of one hour after sunset and one hour before sunrise, open carry is permitted only if the handgun is carried unloaded and secured. These restrictions do not apply to anyone in possession of a valid North Dakota concealed weapons license.

OHIO
State Statute: O.R.C.A. § 2923.11 to § 2923.24
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $55
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: Ohio Highway Patrol or the State Att. Gen.
Notes: Prior to applying, applicants must complete a minimum 12-hour training course, with 10 hours dedicated to safe handling, storage and firing of a handgun, and a written exam. Two hours of each course must be dedicated to live-fire training. An applicant must be 21, a resident of Ohio for 45 days, and a resident of the issuing county (or an adjacent county) for 30 days.

OKLAHOMA
State Statute: O.S. Title 21 § 1290.1 et seq.
Shall/May Issue: Shall issue
Cost: $100
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: State Bureau of Investigation
Notes: It is unlawful for any person having a CCL to carry a concealed handgun into any: government building; meeting of any elected or appointed government officials; prison or detention center; elementary, secondary, or vocational-technical school property; sports arena during a professional sporting event; any place where pari-mutuel wagering is authorized; college or university property and any other place specifically prohibited by law. Except for any elementary, secondary, or vocational-technical school property, these prohibitions do not apply to parking lots. OK State recognizes any valid concealed carry weapons permit or license issued by another state.

OREGON
State Statute: O.R.S. § 166.291 through 166.297
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $65
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Notes: Firearms carried openly in belt holsters are not considered to be concealed. It is unlawful to possess a firearm loaded or unloaded in a public building. “Public building” means a hospital, capitol building, a public or private school, college or university, a courthouse, city hall, or residence of any state official and the grounds adjacent to each such building. This restriction does not apply to individuals licensed under Oregon law to carry concealed weapons.

PENNSYLVANIA
State Statute: 18 PA Cons. Stat. § 6106 through 6109
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $19
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff or Chief of Police
Notes: It is unlawful to possess any firearm on school property but it shall be a defense that the weapon is possessed and used in conjunction with a lawful supervised school activity or course or is possessed for other lawful purpose.

RHODE ISLAND
State Statute: R.I.G.L. § 11-47-18
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $40
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: Attorney General
Notes: To obtain a license to carry, an applicant must be twenty one years of age, be a resident of the town where he is applying, or having a bona fide residence within the U.S. and a license or permit to carry a concealed handgun issued by another state or unit of local government, and have a good reason to fear an injury to his person or property or have “any other proper reason for carrying” a handgun, and be “a suitable person to be so licensed.”

SOUTH CAROLINA
State Statute: N.S.C.A. § 23-31-215
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $50
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: South Carolina Law Enforcement Division
Notes: The State Law Enforcement Division must issue permits to carry handguns to a person who is a resident of South Carolina, or a non-resident who owns property in South Carolina, or military personnel permanent change of station orders; who is not prohibited from possessing a firearm; who is at least 21; who provides one current full face color photograph; proof of residence; proof of actual or corrected 20/40 vision; proof of training; and fingerprints.

SOUTH DAKOTA
State Statute: S.D.C.L. § 23-7-7 through § 23-7-8
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $10
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: Chief of Police, County Sheriff, or Secretary of State
Notes: A permit holder may not carry a concealed pistol into an establishment licensed to serve alcoholic beverages on the premises if the establishment derives more than 50% of its sales from alcoholic beverages, a county courthouse, or an elementary or secondary school premises, including school vehicles or buildings.

TENNESSEE
State Statute: T.C.A. § 39-17-1351 and § 39-17-1357
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $115
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety, Handgun Carry
Permit Office
Notes: It is unlawful to possess a firearm on the premises of a public place where alcoholic beverages are served. It is unlawful to possess or carry any firearm, with the intent to go armed, onto any school or college facility or grounds (to include a bus), unless used for instructional or sanctioned ceremonial purposes. It is unlawful to carry a weapon into a meeting where the owner has posted prominent signs at all entrances banning weapon possession.

TEXAS
State Statute: T.P.C. § 46.01 et seq.
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $140
Permit Term: 4 years
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety
Notes: It is unlawful for a handgun license holder to carry a handgun on the premises of: a government court; a business that derives 51 percent or more of its income from the sale of alcohol for on-premises consumption; a school or educational institution, high school, collegiate, or professional sporting event or interscholastic event that is taking place; a hospital or nursing home; an amusement park; or a place of religious worship.

UTAH
State Statute: U.C. §§ 23-20-11 et seq., 24-2-17, 76-10-301, and 76-10-501 et seq.
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $65
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: DPS, or the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification
Notes: Utah will recognize a permit issued by another state. A person with a permit to carry a concealed firearm may not carry a concealed firearm in any secure area. A secure area may be established at an airport, higher education institution, or courthouse. A mental health facility or correctional facility may be designated by rule as an area in which no firearm or ammunition may be transported, sold, given, or possessed upon the facility. At least one notice shall be prominently displayed at each entrance to any secure area in which a firearm is restricted. Provisions shall be made to provide a secure firearms storage area so that persons with lawfully carried firearms may store them while they are in the secure area.

VERMONT
State Statute: V.S.A §13-85-4001 and § 13-85-4003
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: N/A
Permit Term: N/A
Issuing Authority: N/A
Notes: Open or concealed carry in Vermont is legal without any state issued permit. A permit may be requested for reciprocity purposes, but no permit is required by residents or non-residents. It is lawful to carry a firearm openly or concealed provided the firearm is not carried with the intent or avowed purpose of injuring a fellow man. It is unlawful to carry a firearm within any state institution or upon the grounds or lands owned or leased by such institution. It is unlawful to carry or possess a firearm in a school bus or school building or on school property. The board of school directors may authorize the use of firearms for instructional purposes when facilities for such instruction are available.

VIRGINIA
State Statute: V.C.A. § 18.2-308
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $50
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: State Circuit Court of the applicant’s residence.
Notes: It is unlawful to carry any firearm at any time in any elementary, junior high, or high school, except as part of the curriculum or other school-sponsored program of any organization permitted by the school. Firearms may be possessed in a vehicle if unloaded and locked in a closed container or vehicle trunk. Any person with a concealed handgun permit may carry a concealed handgun onto school property while in a vehicle to drop off or pick up a child, only if the permit holder remains in the vehicle with the handgun completely concealed. It is unlawful to carry a concealed handgun onto the premises of any restaurant or club for which a license to sell or serve alcoholic beverages on premises has been granted by the Alcohol Beverage Control Board. It is unlawful to carry any firearm without good and sufficient reason to a place of worship while a religious meeting is being held.

WASHINGTON
State Statute: R.C.W. § 9.41.050 through § 9.41.075
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $60
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority:
Chief of Police or County Sheriff
Notes: It is unlawful for a person to carry onto, or to possess, on public or private elementary or secondary school premises, school-provided transportation, or areas of facilities while being used exclusively by public or private schools any firearm or any air gun, including any air pistol or air rifle, designed to propel a BB, pellet, or other projectile by the discharge of compressed air, carbon dioxide or other gas. Those licensed to carry a concealed weapon may carry while picking up or dropping off a student on school premises.

WEST VIRGINIA
State Statute: W.V.C. § 61-7-4
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $90
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: County Sheriff
Notes: It is unlawful to possess a firearm on any school bus, any public or private primary or secondary school or grounds thereof, or at any school-sponsored function. This shall not apply to a law enforcement officer, or while conducting programs with a valid educational purpose with permission from the board of education or principal, or possession of an unloaded firearm in a locked motor vehicle.

WISCONSIN
State Statute: W.S.A. 941.23
Shall/May Issue: None
Cost: N/A
Permit Term: N/A
Issuing Authority: N/A
Notes: It is unlawful for any person except a peace officer to go armed with a concealed and dangerous weapon. There is no statutory provision for obtaining a license or permit to carry a concealed weapon. State law does not prohibit the open carrying of a firearm, but a person should exercise caution when carrying a firearm in public.

WYOMING
State Statute: W.S.A. 6-8-104
Shall/May Issue: Shall Issue
Cost: $74
Permit Term: 5 years
Issuing Authority: Att. Gen.
Notes: It is unlawful to carry into any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms; any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose; any place where persons are assembled for public worship; any elementary or secondary school facility or any college or university without written consent.

Up Next

Kitanica’s PNT X.A Tactical Pants

This summary is not intended as legal advice or restatement of law, and should not…