The City of Chicago’s new handgun ordinance went into effect today Monday and the Chicago Police Department said in a press release it is prepared to implement the permit and registration requirements.

The process involves two steps, beginning with the application for a Chicago Firearms Permit (CFP), which is required in order to legally register a firearm.

While the CFP application can be downloaded from the Chicago Police Department’s website at, it must be submitted in person at Chicago Police Headquarters, located at 3510 S. Michigan.

Residents must possess the following information in order to complete the CPF application:

-A valid Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) Card issued by the State of Illinois

-Two identical passport-size photos taken in the last 30 days showing the person’s full face, head and shoulders

-A valid Driver’s License, or if the resident doesn’t possess one, a letter from a licensed optometrist or ophthalmologist attesting that the applicant meets the minimum vision requirements to obtain an Illinois driver’s license

-A signed affidavit from a firearms instructor approved in the State of Illinois stating that the applicant has completed a firearms safety and training course.

-A $100 application fee

All applicants must be at least 21 years old, or 18-20 years old with an eligible parents’ permission. Applicants cannot be convicted of any violent crime, have two or more offenses for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or under state law have been convicted of domestic violence. Additionally, they must be fingerprinted and submit to a background check.

After obtaining a Chicago Firearms Permit, residents can purchase a firearm. Residents must then register their firearm within 5 days with the Chicago Police Department.

Only one handgun can be registered in any 30-day period. The cost is a one-time $15 fee per firearm, and the person will be required to file an annual report.

To register a firearm the owner must provide information on the type of weapon, the manufacturer, the serial number, where it was obtained or purchased and where the weapon will be located.

Individuals who owned firearms prior to today, including firearms that were not registered and multiple handguns, must apply for a CFP within 90 days.

The application for registration certificates can also be downloaded from the Chicago Police Department’s website at and can be submitted by mail or in person at Chicago Police Headquarters.

Certain types of weapons cannot be registered because they are ineligible or unsafe, such as sawed-off shotguns, .50 caliber weapons, assault weapons and certain handguns. A list of ineligible firearms will be posted on the Chicago Police Department’s website.

Residents were also reminded that it is still illegal to possess a firearm on the streets of Chicago, which includes bringing it to Chicago Police Department headquarters to register.

Residents who currently have registered firearms with the City can wait until their current registration expires before re-registering, but they should apply now for the CFP.

Once a firearm is registered, residents are responsible for contacting police immediately if their firearm is lost, stolen, destroyed, sold or if there is a change in any of the information on the registration certificate.

Anyone supplying false information on the application is subject to fines and/or arrest, with penalties up to $5,000 and 90 days in jail for a first offense.

The entire ordinance can be reviewed on the Chicago Police Department’s website at


Up Next

Malaysian Police selects Integrated Ballistic Identification System to investigate gun crimes.

The City of Chicago's new handgun ordinance went into effect today Monday and the…