USS George H.W. Bush, the flagship of Carrier Strike Group Two

George H.W. Bush Carrier Strike Group will deploy from Naval Station Norfolk and Naval Station Mayport on Saturday, Feb. 15 and serve “as part of the 5th and 6th U.S. Fleet areas of responsibility conducting maritime security operations, theater security cooperation efforts and missions in support of Operation Enduring Freedom,” according to a Fleet Forces Command press release.

As Navy Times points out, Bush Carrier Strike Group includes the aircraft carrier USS George H.W. Bush and the guided missile destroyer USS Truxtun (DDG 103), which will leave from Norfolk. Guided missile destroyer USS Roosevelt (DDG 80) and guided missile cruiser USS Philippine Sea (CG 58) will serve as escorts when they depart from Mayport.

The USS George H.W. Bush includes Carrier Air Wing Eight, which consists of strike fighter squadrons VFA 213 “Fight Black Lions,” VFA 31 “Tomcatters,” VFA 15 “Valions” and VFA 87 “Golden Warriors,” as well as tactical electronics warfare squadron 134 “Garudas,” carrier airborne early warning squadron 124 “Bear Aces,” fleet logistics support squadron 40 “Rawhides,” helicopter maritime strike squadron 70 “Spartans” and helicopter sea combat squadron 9 “Tridents.”

Read more:

Up Next

MOLOT-USA VEPR Strikeforce Elite Stock

MOLOT-USA VEPR Strikeforce Elite Stock with Scorpion Recoil System six-position Collapsible Stock Package with...