Smith & Wesson Corp. today announced the successful completion of the 2012 International Defensive Pistol Association (IDPA) Indoor National Championships over the weekend. Marking the 15th anniversary of this prestigious event, competitors traveled to Springfield, Massachusetts, from around the globe to compete in what has become one of the top inaugural matches of the competitive season. Held at the Smith & Wesson Shooting Sports Center, the three-day event concluded with five division titles and 10 special category winners being named from the 300+ competitors.

With some of the biggest names in the shooting sports competing in this year’s match, it was no surprise to see many competitors hovering at the top of their respective leader boards throughout the event. Competitors included past division winners and Smith & Wesson’s own Jerry Miculek, Dan Burwell and David Olhasso. After the last round was fired and final points tallied, it was previous four-time champion Robert Vogel who once again posted the fastest overall time while also claiming the Stock Service Pistol (SSP) Division title.

Following Vogel’s overall score of 129.26 was Custom Defensive Pistol (CDP) Champion Glenn Shelby with a cumulative score of 154.91. Rounding out the top three positions was Smith & Wesson Team Member David Olhasso. Competing with his M&P45 pistol in the Custom Defensive Pistol (CDP) Division, Olhasso’s score of 157.17 was enough to earn him the High Industry title while finishing third overall.

Just behind Olhasso was fellow teammate Dan Burwell who finished the match in fourth place overall. Burwell, who competed with a Smith & Wesson M&P9L finished with another strong performance this time competing in the Enhanced Service Pistol (ESP) Division. Burwell’s score of 158.05 was enough to narrowly edge out second place competitor Dean Brevit, earning him the ESP Division win.

In the revolver discipline, Smith & Wesson’s Jerry Miculek once again proved that he is the competitor to beat in any wheel gun competition. Competing in the Enhanced Service Revolver (ESR) Division, Miculek extended his dominance in the event by claiming the division title for a remarkable eleventh time. With his Smith & Wesson Model 625 revolver, Miculek handily captured the ESR title with a 71 second lead over the closest competitor. The final division title was awarded to Joe Linskey, who competed in this year’s Stock Service Revolver (SSR) Division, Master Class. With a final score of 202.85, Linskey earned the division title over Team Smith & Wesson’s Josh Lentz who posted a final time of 205.03 seconds.

“On behalf of Smith & Wesson, I would like to congratulate the 2012 division winners and thank all of the competitors who traveled to Springfield for this year’s match,” said James Debney, Smith & Wesson President and CEO. “It is a great honor to be able to host this match for a fifth consecutive year and I would like to acknowledge all of the men and women who worked diligently behind the scenes in order to make it a tremendous success. From the event coordinators to the range safety officers and volunteers, there were countless people who worked long days and nights, always with a smile. Their tireless efforts made it possible for us to host a match of this magnitude.”

Debney continued, “We continue to hear from numerous competitors and spectators that they especially enjoy this match and the use of the facilities at the Smith & Wesson Shooting Sports Center. We remain committed to reviewing new ways to improve the IDPA Indoor Nationals, which is generally recognized as the top event of the season.”

The 2012 Indoor National Championships featured 12 exciting courses of fire involving low-light and no-light conditions, moving targets and defensive shooting scenarios. Smith & Wesson, working in conjunction with IDPA, also hosted two disabled veterans who competed in the match, including Team Smith & Wesson member Trevor Baucom. Baucom, who was competing in the IDPA Indoor Nationals for the first time, used his M&P9 Pro Series pistol to complete the 12 stages of fire.

“Smith & Wesson did an exceptional job as the host for this year’s match and through their efforts and those of the IDPA, myself and another veteran were able to compete in the event for the first time,” said Trevor Baucom. “I’m extremely pleased to be associated with a company that is actively looking for ways to bring in other wounded warriors to the sport. After discussing the match with Joyce Wilson, I’m also excited to report that the IDPA will begin trying to make more matches accessible for shooters in wheelchairs and each match will be advertised as such.”

In addition to the three-days of intense competitions, participants had the opportunity to participate in a variety of activities including Smith & Wesson factory tours and training seminars.

Smith & Wesson would like to congratulate and recognize all of the Division Champions and Special Category Winners:

CDP Champion: Glenn Shelby
ESP Champion: Dan Burwell
SSP Champion: Robert Vogel
ESR Champion: Jerry Miculek
SSR Champion: Joe Linskey
High Senior: James Martino
High Lady: Randi Rogers
High Law Enforcement: Robert Vogel
High Press: Scotty McGregor
High Industry: David Olhasso
High International: Juan Carlos Gonzalez Valdez
High Junior: Tori Nonaka
High Military: Rob Tate
Most Distinguished Senior: Ray Duroy
Most Accurate: Dean Brevit

Up Next

Danish navy frees pirates’ hostages off Somali coast; 2 hostages dead

Smith & Wesson Corp. today announced the successful completion of the 2012 International Defensive…